CDC Eviction Order Extended to October 3rd

The CDC Eviction order was intended to end on July 31st. Following the recent surge in cases brought forth by the highly transmissible Delta variant, the CDC Director now issues a new national moratorium on evictions temporarily halting evictions for persons in counties experiencing substantial or high rates of transmission. This includes all of Arkansas (see Arkanas levels). This order is set to expire on October 3, 2021. 

 

Tenants seeking protection under the moratorium are required to submit a declaration statement to their landlord about their inability to make rent payments.

The declaration must include statements about:

  • your efforts to obtain government assistance

  • your income

  • your inability to pay rent due to loss of income or work or significant medical expenses

  • your efforts to try to make full or partial rent payments

  • the likelihood that eviction would cause them to live in a homeless shelter or another residence that would place them in close quarters with others

Once you have completed the declaration statement, give it to your landlord. Keep proof that you sent this statement to them.

Those who violate the order may be subject to a fine of no more than $100,000 if the violation does not result in death or one year in jail, or both, or a fine of no more than $250,000 if the violation results in a death or one year in jail, or both, or as otherwise provided by law. An organization violating this Order may be subject to a fine of no more than $200,000 per event if the violation does not result in death or $500,000 per event if the violation results in a death or as otherwise provided by law.

The moratorium does not prohibit evictions for reasons other than nonpayment of rent. It also does not relieve tenants of any obligation to pay rent owed or any late fees or other penalties. You are encouraged to continue paying rent if you are able to avoid any large amounts due following the expiration of the moratorium. Tenants protected by the moratorium will still have to pay all rent due under the lease when the moratorium ends.


Eviction Declaration Forms: 

Free legal assistance may be available for affected tenants. Apply online from anywhere in the state, or apply over the phone based upon your location:

  • Center for Arkansas Legal Services

    • Call 501-376-3423 or toll-free at 1-800-950-5817 if you live in Central, Southern, and Western Arkansas. (Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier, Union, White, and Yell Counties)

  • Legal Aid of Arkansas

    • Call 1-800-952-9243 if you live in Northwest Arkansas, North Central Arkansas, as well as the Jonesboro and West Memphis areas. (Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Newton, Phillips, Poinsett, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, and Woodruff counties)

 

 

Posted: August 5, 2021